OH FFS, “I know you want it” #musicMonday #MM

This is what the guy sings:

And that’s why I’m gon’ take a good girl
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
You’re a good girl
Can’t let it get past me
You’re far from plastic
Talk about getting blasted
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
But you’re a good girl
The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty
Go ahead, get at me
Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke, 2013

And what he has got?

  • Huffington Post said “Robin Thicke’s ‘Blurred Lines’ Dubbed ‘Rapey'”.
  • The Guardian calls it “the most controversial song of the decade”.
  • The Society Pages appeared to be harsher by pointing out that the lyrics of Robin Thicke’s Blurred Lines are “from the mouth of rapists”.
  • Independent UK reported that the single is “accused of reinforcing rape myths” .
  • Wall Street Journals again asked “Is ‘Blurred Lines’ a ‘Rapey’ Song?”.

And what the girls are singing:

Bang bang into the room (I know you want it)
Bang bang all over you (I’ll let you have it)
Wait a minute let me take you there (ah)
Wait a minute ’til ya (ah)
Bang bang there goes your heart (I know you want it)
Back, back seat of my car (I’ll let you have it)
Wait a minute let me take you there (ah)
Wait a minute ’til ya (ah)
Bang Bang by Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj, 2014

Mind you that Ariana Grande is only 21 this year.

Nobody has spared a word, except this joker asking if the song is a feminist anthem?

Let me cut the chase for you, so when a guy sings ‘I know you want it‘, he’s dubbed a rapist but when a girl sings the same thing, she’s a feminist.

What the fuck?

That aside, I love both songs. Currently on the playlist until I get bored of them both.

Leave a Reply

