Nikko, Japan #travelThursday

If you ask which city is my favourite one in Japan, I shall unhesitatingly tell you it’s Nikko.

The Japanese saying “Never say ‘kekko’ until you’ve seen Nikko”; kekko meaning beautiful, magnificent or “I am satisfied” is a reflection of the beauty and sites in Nikkō. Src

Nikko

It’s so true! Nikko is stunning, breathtaking and picturesque. My words and lousy pictures can not do justice to describe the beauty of Nikko. I was literally speechless upon arriving at Lake Chuzenji.

In my wild imagination, I dream of retiring in Nikko. I would wake up every morning to this beautiful scene. I would enjoy a slow breakfast and take my time to water the flowers. I would then take a walk along the lakeside, dipping my feet to the cold water and watching how feet play with the ripples. I could spend hours sitting at the bench looking at this sparkling surface while the wind makes a mess out of my hair. You say nothing but hugging me tight.

And Canon in D is playing in the background.

Okay, my imagination just stops short there. I don’t know what I should do with this beautiful scene for the rest of the day. But since in my imagination, I have already retired and basically just killed time with anything, I guess anything else would do.

On a serious note, Nikko is too beautiful for words.

Leave a Reply

