A Good Day to Die Hard [movie]

I have a weird thing with action movies recently. It doesn’t matter how much I enjoyed the show while ‘watching’ it, when the movie comes to an end and the adrenalin rush is over, i feel: hmm okay, just another action show.

Bruce Willis has probably been too old to take on any action role now. It’s not that he sucks in Die Hard 5, he still rocks it but I see why he plays the character in a way of a funny chillaxing man walking around and just happens to get himself into trouble to save his son. With this repeated line “I’m on a fucking vacation”, I guess we can all expect his retirement in the next installment (if there still any) and Jack McClane (by Jai Courtney) takes over.

In fact, I really like Jai Courtney. He just has the right face for being both a problematic child and a young fucked-up agent who’s trying to prove himself.

Inline image 1
Src

There’s a number of expected cliche plotted around, the usual thing you will see about a son reconciling and giving respect to his estranged parent. The good thing is the awkwardness between these 2 tough men is kind of cute and I do like it.

There are a bunch of favourite quotes one can find here and here.
My favourites are these below:

***

John McClane: Need a hug?
Jack McClane: We’re not a hugging family.
John McClane: Damn straight!

***

John McClane: It’s been fun running around you all day

John McClane: I love you boy
Jack McClane (with teary eyes): Me too
John McClane: I’ve always got your back
Jack McClane: I got yours too

***

John McClane: Safe house, my ass.

***

John McClane: The things we do for our kids. Yippie-kai-yay, motherfucker.

2 thoughts on “A Good Day to Die Hard [movie]

  1. Good review Jenny. As a result, there is some decent action and a lot of explosions, but I would be hard-pressed to call this a Die Hard film, rather than just an action film with Bruce Willis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

