Jason Fried: Why work doesn’t happen at work

This must be my 2nd most favourite TED video. (The most favourite talk ever is by Dan Gilbert: why we make bad decisions.)

Listening to this talk is like sipping on the most delicious clam chowder while I’m close to die of starving. It feeds my soul and relieves the itch of struggling with optimizing my time while working on something.

On a serious note, I can’t agree more with Jason that M&M is the biggest involuntary distraction that every employees are facing at work. And I’m not saying this based on merely my personal experience. I have heard the same sentiment from my friends, from my ex-colleagues, from our work partners, from my clients, on Facebook, on Twitter … just about everyone, from everywhere. Not sure if managers hear all these noises though?! To sum up, I just hope all managers understand that the reason employees go to office is to work. Think about the amount you pay employees to actually do the work, I’m pretty sure all managers would want to maximize that amount and see it translate to actual work. So just let your employees focus on work. Don’t bug them so frequently, even if it means you are just making sure they are really working.

I would end this post with a disclaimer which is a variation of Henry Ford’s “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t – you’re right.”: Whether you think I mean what I mean, or you think I don’t – you are right.

Good night!

Leave a Reply

