what’s your twitter name?

I don’t know about you and others but i do search on people who i’m interested in knowing their background and what they have been up to. Don’t jump to the conclusion with the word ‘stalking’ yet.

Stalking is a term commonly used to refer to unwanted or obsessive attention by an individual or group toward another person. Stalking behaviors are related to harassment and intimidation and may include following the victim in person or monitoring them. The word stalking is used, with some differing meanings, in psychology and psychiatry and also in some legal jurisdictions as a term for acriminal offense. Src

So if I’ve talked to you once, you handed me your name-card and I put your name on Google Search and these happen:
– I figured out your Facebook, saw a few recent activities
– I got your Twitter, read some recent tweets
– Saw your face popping up here and there on Google, click those images to see what’s up
– Stumbled upon your blog (which might potentially be the 1st link in Google search result)

These activities can’t be labeled as “unwanted or obsessive attention by an individual toward another person” or “harassment and intimidation and may include following the victim in person or monitoring them” – then it’s simply not stalking.

But that’s not my point here.

Nowadays when it’s just so easy to search for something, i will take the liberty to assume that people are free and opened to do any kind of search, including stalking-like-but-definitely-not activities as aforementioned.

So when someone asks me “do you use twitter?” or “what’s your twitter name?“, the thought that naturally comes to my mind will be “you mean you can’t search for it?“. I guess people are just that much self-conscious to not let others think of themselves as ‘stalkers‘ but to me it’s like: c’mon you should have got it with a click on google. It’s even likely that you have probably read through all the shits i put on my twitter. If you like, you can follow my twitter account already and for courtesy sake, you should probably ask “you mind if i follow you on twitter” instead while i actually think it’s not necessary. What is there to ask what my twitter is like you expect me to spell out my twitter username for you? (Wah! I’m surprised i can get this out in a single breath)

So people, it’s okay when you randomly add/follow strangers/anyone you’ve just met for once (like in a networking session) on social media platforms. Don’t need to go around the bush by trivial questions like “what’s your twitter name?” unless you really can’t find it (as if it’s “strawberry candy baby girl 393948034982042”) – because it’s just annoying.

Well, at least to me, I definitely can’t speak for others.

Leave a Reply

